Taxi and private hire licensing

20th February 2018

Andrew Bridgen MP recently attended an event at the House of Commons to show support for a new campaign asking for national minimum standards for taxi and private hire licensing.

Hosted by Justin Tomlinson MP and personal safety charity Suzy Lamplugh Trust, the event launched a report which reveals that in some areas, taxi and private hire vehicle licences are being granted to drivers with criminal convictions including violent offences. The charity’s research indicates that passenger safety is being compromised because there are no national minimum standards to enforce sufficient safety checks for taxi and private hire vehicle licensing.

The report states that national minimum standards will help to ensure consistency and improve safety checks across all licensing authorities throughout England and Wales.

Andrew commented: ‘Public safety is of the upmost importance and I wholeheartedly support this important campaign to improve safety. It is vital that all taxi and private hire vehicle drivers are held accountable to rigorous national licensing standards whether this is in [constituency], London or any locality across the country. These regulations must prioritise passenger safety; everyone who uses a taxi or private hire vehicle should be confident that their driver has been appropriately vetted, and that they will reach their destination safely.’

Project Cheer

Reasons to be upbeat about Brexit.


Andrew holds regular surgeries throughout the constituency.

Forthcoming surgery dates

Friday 6th April 2018 - Castle Donington
Castle Donington Parish Council, Parish Rooms Hillside, Castle Donington DE74 2NH
Friday 4th May 2018 - Coalville
Marlene Reid Centre, 85 Belvoir Road, Coalville, Leics LE67 3PH
Friday 1st June 2018 - Ashby
Ashby de la Zouch Town Council, Legion House, South Street, Ashby, Leics LE65 1BQ


Constituency Map

View North West Leicestershire in a larger map

Your local Councillors

Enter your Postcode below for details of all your elected representatives: